Dansk Melodi Grand Prix

Country – Denmark

Broadcaster – DR

Created – 1957

History Summary:

Dansk Melodi Grand Prix began in 1957 to select Denmark’s debut Eurovision entry, and has been held every year that Denmark participated in the Contest.

In 2004 the competition briefly expanded into a format similar to the national selections of its neighbour Sweden with two semi-finals and a grand final. However in 2009, the semi-finals were scrapped and the competition returned to being held on a single night and has remained so to this day. Until 2005, all entries had to be performed in Danish before the language restrictions were lifted.

The show has toured around various cities across Denmark every year.

Current Format:

Ten songs take part in the televised show, where there are two rounds of voting. In the first round, voting split between 50% televotes and 50% national jury decide the top three that progress to the “super final”, and the previous televotes are wiped before lines are reopened. The three songs are performed again, and the “super final” vote is split between 50% international jury and 50% televotes. The song with the most points in the “super final” is declared the winner.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s